Heroism: Circumstances + GIFS That Describe My Pain

The Big Bad Monster is, as always, giving me problems. And though I’ve always struggled through every step of writing this novel, I’m always presented with New and Improved Problems just to keep me on my toes.

Normally, by the time your characters and setting are properly developed, things are pretty much done and it’s easy riding from there. But I had this assumption that characters and settings were NOT intertwined; that each thing could stand on its own two legs and be happy cupcakes.

Ha! Ha!

No.

source-1.gif

About 100 pages ago (give or take), I had to rip my characters from their beloved environment and threw them into a completely shiny new setting. It was then, and only then, that I was suddenly faced with the question:

Who are my characters without their home?

image.jpg

Even though they willingly leave their original setting, I as the author am left with some very big, very speculative questions that I don’t know how to answer.

I feel like my characters aren’t my characters without their original setting. For so long (three notebooks), they were in one place, and that was the story, and I understood how it worked and I was familiar with how it felt.

giphy-1.gif

Now I’m in new territory, and I’m just as lost and confused as my characters. I feel out of place and ridiculous, and am pleading to go back home. What even is this place?? Where am I?!?! WHAT IS GOING ON?!?!?!?!

But this is the story. This is the meat, the big event, the twists and turns. This is what I’ve been wanting to write since I plotted the story eons ago.

So I’m putting my nose to the grindstone or my shoulder to the wheel or whatever, and powering through it, because even though it’s foreign ground, I’m determined to write this story.

giphy.gif

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury July 3, 2017 — 3:40 pm

    Good on you for getting through!! I think it’s important to know how our characters react/exist in different settings as well as circumstances. It makes them deeper and more complex right?! GOOD LUCK!

    Like

  2. Thanksssss 😚 and I give thee credit for that first gif because I stole it from your bloggo

    Like

  3. New and Improved Problems! Ha ha ha. That made me laugh!
    Good luck with putting your story out there!

    Like

Leave a Comment

