The 10 Best Things About Science Fiction

My favorite genre is science fiction. It doesn’t matter whether it’s books, movies, music, or ice cream flavors*- if it has to do with the galaxy, superpowers, or Jim Kirk, I’m there.

Since it’s my favorite, it’s hard for me to dissect the reasons why it’s amazing- I only dissect the things I hate. #sadbuttrue But because I’m a brave soul, I dissected it for you anyway.

*you know the guardians of the galaxy 2 blizzard. I know you do. It was amazing.

NUMBER ONE: 50% of the time, it has something to do with a spaceship.

7b294f97ba4c39c6a6f9034db1116a51.jpgmaxresdefault.jpg

NUMBER TWO: The villains are always i m p e c c a b l e.

Khan_on_Kronos.jpg1afdfcddffa0778a68100a5df6c5a59469bf572627966b809ed873ec09e66baa.jpghttps---blueprint-api-production.s3.amazonaws.com-uploads-story-thumbnail-44200-d56feb35-a6ff-4930-880d-24302891dea0.png

NUMBER THREE: They can vary from 3% science, 97% fantasy to 3% fantasy and 97% science-

inception-explained.jpg

More science.

doctor_strange_marvel_studios-018.jpg

More fantasy.

Most Science award goes to The Martian. Most Fantasy… I’m thinking Jurassic World, actually. (It pretends to be science-y but *squints eyes* I’m not so sure about that.)

NUMBER FOUR: They have the best soundtracks to exist in the human world.

As you may see, based on which movies I’ve listed as having the ‘best soundtracks to exist in the human world’, these movies do not have to have the ‘best story to exist in the human world’ to have great music. Sometimes, the lamest stories have the best music. Maybe the composer felt like he could compensate for the lameness with his awesome music skillz.

Maybe he did compensate for the lameness with his awesome music skillz.

NUMBER FIVE: Let the fanart runneth over.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 5.15.14 PM.png

Click to go to my beautiful, expansive, pinny, full of wonders.

NUMBER SIX: Tears.

I’m lookin’ at you, Hunger Games.

the-hunger-games-trilogy.jpg

Books that have made me cry (internally. Disclaimer: I’ve never cried tears out of my eyeballs because of a book, but that’s just because my tear ducts are dry and dusty ghosts of Feels That Used to Be): The Hunger Games, Code Name: Verity, and The Ascendance Trilogy.

I already told you what movies made me cry.

NUMBER SEVEN: C O S T U M E S

*nods head to indicate entire section dedicated to cosplay which I’m not covering in this post*

The-Maze-Runner-Gladers.jpgnutrek-cast-and-jj-abrams.jpgvideo-undefined-26D1DDBC00000578-149_636x358.jpg

I’m not going to talk about Padme’s Closet of Dreams, because I already did that.

Also, Cinna is 7 thousand times more fabulous a designer in the BOOKS than in the movies, because movies = limited by budget, books = limited by imagination only.

NUMBER NINE: Superpowers are awesome sauceome.

tumblr_o5l61em7SJ1vra80yo3_1280.jpg

Look at those eyes. Piercing. And semi-terrifying. *shivers at the sheer awesomeness of Carol Danvers*

The Force isn’t technically a superpower per se, but it is a power. And even though Anakin uses it to make a pear float across the table, it’s also used to do cool things like fooorce chooke:

tumblr_oic86tHHl91rszoo3o1_540.gif

WHICH is technically also Anakin so he apparently figured out what the Force is actually supposed to be doing.

NUMBER TEN: I HAVE RUN OUT OF REASONS.

crying-meme-674-1.jpg

I already dissected NINE beautiful reasons for you. I CAN’T DO IT ANYMORE.

You know why else I can’t do ten reasons?

Because I’m a fangirl.

I can’t even.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Yes to everything in this post! Scifi has IT ALL!!!

    Like

  2. I know, right? My friends keep suggesting fantasy to me, but I’m like… guys… scifi…

    Like

  3. There is plenty of good fantasy out there, but yeah, scifi is where it is at! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

