Future

Does anyone else make lists and lists of plans for their future? Dreamy scenarios and completely crazy ideas that will never come true? Or realistic goals, like living in a little apartment with a little job on your own. Looking up good schools in Hawaii, or finding houses for sale in New Zealand. Searching for cheap one-way airline tickets to anywhere.

I do this all the time. For one thing, I love travel, but mostly it’s just me wanting something exciting.

P1010333.JPG
last summer @ donut falls, aka the most wonderful place on earth

But I have so many plans. Believe me, I have legitimate Stress Fests about HOW I’m going to get ALL OF THESE LIFE PLANS done. I only have one life!!! I have so many plans!!! AND I HAVE TO DO THEM ALL RIGHT NOW!!!!

As fun as it is to plan my adventure to the Caman Islands while I sit surrounded by snow (snow: please go away, I hate you), there are times when I’m not doing this just for fun.

I’m doing it to get away from something.

I KNOW I’M SUPPOSED TO BE DOING HOMEWORK BUT I REALLY NEEDED TO SEE HOW MUCH BREAD COSTS IN LONDON.

(Homework is the main thing I procrastinate.) But there’s more to this than procrastination. There’s also contentment.

IMG_3026.JPG
look at that SUMMER GREEN. (looks at current snowy conditions and cries)

I have a long and dark history with this thing, ‘contentment’, and believe me, it’s not pretty. I’ve thrown a few good punches, it’s thrown a few more good punches, and no matter how discontent I am I still have to just SIT HERE AND NOT BUY THAT ONE WAY TICKET TO DISNEYLAND.

It’s not wrong to want to do things with your future- make plans, have goals, STRIVE for something!

But don’t forget that there’s beauty in this moment right now.

Life is what happens while you’re waiting.

These moments right now are the ones that make you who you are. And even if they don’t seem glorious, they’re still your life.

Make it count.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. …I need to know how much bread costs in London. I also need to know what shows are currently running on Broadway and what Lemony Snicket’s sister’s name is. Learning these things obviously takes precedence over homework…

    Like

Leave a Comment

