Cinematic Appreciation: Now You See Me 2

CINEMATIC APPRECIATION OBJECTIVE: I love movies. They are a combination of every art form- visual and audible, textures and colors and singing and talking and everything beautiful. So I thought I would take some time to fully appreciate the films that capture my heart the most.

Each film is scored on several different levels:

CGI (Computer Generated Images, or basically special effects): 0 being terrible and 10 being phenomenal.

COSTUMING AND MAKEUP (speaks for itself): 0 being inaccurate and 10 being perfect.

SCREENPLAY (script): 0 being filled with plot holes and 10 being flawless.

CASTING (even extras!): 0 being meh and 10 being EVEN THE PERSON ON THE SIDEWALK WAS IN CHARACTER!!!

MUSIC (soundtrack): 0 being a detraction from the film and 10 being an advantage.

And, finally, OVERALL FEELS (my fangirling emotions): 0 being none and 10 being I-can’t-breathe.

The closer you look, the less you’ll actually see.

05daa0c7303b7d16e212c9ea1b940ba1566c4be8aeff2ba4a1aba5e0f7b4992e_facebook.jpeg

NOW YOU SEE ME 2

Starring Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo, Dave Franco, and Lizzy Caplan.

CGI: ? out of 10

Was there CGI in this movie? I don’t even know. Therefore, it must have been so good, I couldn’t even tell.

Honestly I can’t think of any scene that demands extreme CGI. This isn’t a fantasy film with beasts and creatures and that sort of thing, which would require serious graphics and animation. But nowadays, all movies have at some CGI, even if it’s just a minute or two of green screen.

However, I’m thinking that CGI comes into play for things like the Eye and perfecting card tricks and in general making the magic magical. So let’s say it’s like… a 5 out of 10. They used it perfectly, but they didn’t blow my mind with their graphics.

external.jpeg

COSTUMING AND MAKEUP: 8 out of 10.

I mean, it’s modern day and they were mostly black. So, yeah, it’s the real deal, and it’s great, but I’m not in a puddle on the floor wishing I could wear that costume.

However, Jesse Eisenberg. With his nerdy glasses.

SCREENPLAY: 10 out of 10.

I HAVEN’T FOUND A PROBLEM WITH IT.

I watched this movie before the first one (don’t hate me, chronological people) so I had NO IDEA what kind of mind game I was in for. So when the big twist ending came and we all sat in shock and amazement for twenty minutes hitting things excitedly and hitting each other excitedly, I was… well, pretty excited.

The story lays out all the right cards in all the right orders. It drops you information that you don’t even know you need, but when the end comes you realize “Oh, they told me that earlier.” That’s my favorite. When someone makes you think something’s happening, when really something else is happening.

Which is kind of the point of the movie.

NEoh0z3yBlHrrr_1_1.jpg

CASTING: 1 million and 1 out of 10

First of all, my child, Jesse Eisenberg. Then there’s the dashing young brother of James Franco, who’s just as charming and better looking. Lizzy’s a comedian and a butterfly. Also, there’s Mark Fluffalo. Did I mention my child Jesse Eisenberg?

MUSIC: 10 out of 10.

ROCK THAT THEME, baby. DUN-da-da-da-DUN-da-da-da-DUN! (Ten extra points if you sang it.) (*covers face in shame* this is why people don’t follow my blog)

No, but seriously. It’s the big B, back at you, BRIAN TYLER MY MAN. The Iron-Man-3-Thor-2-Age-Of-Ultron Brian Tyler. And he’s just… the best.

I’ve probably said it before, but I’m convinced music is about 50% of the film. If the story’s good, the set’s great, the cast is fab and the director is LA PERFECT, your movie could still be TOTALLY LAME IF YOUR MUSIC SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING I MADE WITH GARAGEBAND LAST NIGHT.

It’s important stuff.

OVERALL FEELS: MINDBLOWN out of 10.

I did NOT see that ending coming. Which is the point.

That card scene? Kills me every time.

web1_NOW-YOU-SEE-ME-JIKH-2.jpg

And my child? Yeah, Jesse’s adorable, I know.

You know what’s great? The first time we ever watched this movie was on my birthday. *wipes away reminiscent tear* Which means… it’s now my birthday movie. Right?

Right.

Leave a Comment

