The Side Effects: Jelsa Excerpt

All of this writing about ice is making my brain freeze up, so progress is dwindling. But Jelsa’s still happening. Here’s your first look at the text:

***

“Welcome to North Winds lodge,” a woman in a red sweater says to us all. “Dinner is waiting for you inside.”

Whoops and hollers from the more enthusiastic students fill the air. I’m starving, too, but not enough to yell about it.

As we all head inside, I take a deep breath of the chilly air and feel months of tension begin to melt away. I let the group get ahead of me and stop on the steps of the lodge. I bend down and press my hands against the snow. As I raise them, an unintentional streak of ice sprays into the step.

I pause, but a quick glance at the door and I see that everyone’s already inside.

I stand up and straighten my sleeves. Then I see that everyone’s not already inside.

Pierce is standing by the doorway. Watching me.

***

CHILLS. I’m so excited about this, people. BUT IF YOU KNOW WHERE JACK FROST IS PLEASE TELL ME BECAUSE HE’S HIDING FROM ME AND ALL I WANT IS FOR HIM TO BE CLEVER AND FUN AND… *writer tears*.

Leave a Comment

