The Best Comic Books (In My Opinion)

I almost titled this “The Best Comic Books”, just like that. Then I realized my knowledge of comic books is limited to the thirty-something single-issue comic books that I personally own, so honestly, the ‘best’ comic books is a relative term.

Relative to me. And to me, these are the best.

NUMBER #1 CAPTAIN MARVEL (Carol Danvers)

FullSizeRender 3.jpg

THE FABULOUS CAPTAIN. The Captain that I thought was lame at first because I was like “Pssh. I already have a Captain and his name is Steve and I don’t need no one else.” But then Carol Danvers waltzed into my life and nothing has ever been the same. She’s beauty, she’s grace, she’s kickin’ baddies in the face. Her suit is the epitome of all things amazing. Annnd her best friend is another one of my favorites…

NUMBER #2 SPIDER WOMAN (Jessica Drew)

1c2355cec6e2ff34a180c74d363fff68.jpg

The Spider-Woman comics are probably my absolute favorite. I love pretty much everything about Jessica. Her sarcasm, her superpowers, her jacket. (Like, can I have that jacket, please?) Also, she’s a mommy. *Cue heart eyes*. If anyone has an Issue 4 laying around that they don’t need PLEASE SEND IT TO ME I NEED IT HELP

NUMBER #3 Spider-Gwen (Gwen Stacy)

Spider-Gwen1.png

If you know anything about me you know that I actually am Gwen Stacy in disguise as a normal human being. Slap some pink and teal on anything and I’ll be first in line to buy it. So Gwen was the first comic I ever read (scratch that. The first comic I ever read was Ms. Marvel. The first comic I ever GOT was Spider-Gwen), so it has a special place in my heart. There are lots of things I love about Gwen. 1. Hair. 2. Sense of humor. 3. SUIT. 4. The fact that in the original Spider-Man movies she was played by BRYCE DALLAS HOWARD. 5. The fact that she’s the daughter of a policeman and at odds with the police force (TENSION. Love it.).

NUMBER #4 WINTER SOLDIER

By Ed Brubaker.

858686-winter_soldier-430x628.jpg

The first reason I loved Brubaker’s run was the first reason pretty much anyone loved Brubaker’s run:

1016200-bwb0003460bugged.jpg

But, I’ve hopped aboard the comic-lover-train as well. Annnnnnd as amazing and perfect as that movie is, the comics have something that could arguably make them- *gulp*- better.

10411311._SX540_.jpg

NATASHKY.

I repeat, Natashky, BUCKYxNATASHA *heart-eyes forever* MY FAVORITE SHIP EVER.

Also, this comic run has James Buchanan Perfect Hair – oh, I mean, Barnes. And that’s reason enough to be the best comic run ever. Because Bucky is just the bestest of the bestest.

NUMBER #5 The Avengers

Okay, this is super vague because there’s like four billion Avengers comics. I don’t even know which ones I’ve read. I have a few from the Civil War II run. The point is, I like the Avengers comics, and that’s all you’re gonna get from me.

NUMBER #6 Anything with Tony Stark

3071660-c1.jpg

Because it’s just… RDJ. I mean, people normally say that about the movie version of Tony Stark, but it carries over to the comics too. And not in a bad way. A lot of the times it’s annoying whenever I read a book/comic and all I see is the actor/actress (like in Hunger Games, I’ve completely forgotten what I originally thought of Prim to look like. And in The Giver, I can’t remember what any of Jonas’s family looked like to me).

But Tony is different. Robert Downey Jr. just brings more life to the character. It helps me imagine the inflection his lines might have. It expands the comic book world into something bigger and better… like a flower in bloom. Tony = blooming flowers.

NUMBER #7 Wonder Woman

GalleryComics_1920x1080_20150617_WW_Cv41_55775bb30cf485.93762653.jpg

Uh-oh. I’m jumping off the Marvel boat. I have one foot on each side of the line right now. DON’T ARREST ME FOR TREASON!

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

Wonder Woman is UH-MAZ-ING. Like, killer amazing. Like, I’ve watched the trailer for her movie about seven billion four hundred million times amazing.

I know that’s the movie, not the comics, but whereas Marvel comics and the MCU are two different beasts entirely, I mash DC movies and comics together into one.

The thing is, Wonder Woman is a warrior/queen/all-around boss. She’s. The. Best.

IMG_2321.JPG
Some of my personal collection.

So, my knowledge of comics is limited. Please don’t hesitate to jump in and tell me what other comics are the best ever, because I love growing my library. What are your favorite comic books?

Leave a Comment

