My Top 6 Favorite Animated Movies

My life sort of revolves around movies, so obviously I’ve gotten to a point where I prefer some movies more than others. The thing is, I have so MANY favorites that I can’t put them all on one list (that would be, like, My Top Seven Thousand Million Favorite Movies??), so I put them on separate lists. Therefore:

My top six favorite ANIMATED movies are as follows.

6- How To Train Your Dragon 1&2

64d6e06eb32f93ceb9491fc77ebbc367.gif

The first Dragon movie was my first FAVORITE movie ever. I mean, it’s not my Favorite of All Favorites anymore, but it used to be, so it’s special to me. The second one also took the Top Spot at one point. But I didn’t want to give them each their own spot on this list because they’re kind of the same thing.

2654bb0d29286514b4c90de34c783651.jpg

Okay so I went to my Pinny to find these pictures and I remembered HOW MUCH I LOVE TOOTHLESS. *heart eyes* The animation in these movies are great- I don’t understand all the other movies Dreamworks makes when they’ve proven to us that they can make things like HTTYD. But, you know, when you make a movie about vikings in the northern ocean with all that green and Scottish accents and… you know, dragons… it kind of sets you up for success.

5- Wreck-It Ralph

cf19cfbb663ec38c54ab0d6a6114b767.jpg

I THOUGHT I WOULD HATE THIS MOVIE. And the first five minutes I was like “Stupid video games.” And then Felix swings his hammer and Bug Hunt starts playing and Sour Bill is generally very sour and Ralph crushes Vanellope’s go-kart and then and then… *tears*. Ralph is fantastic because he’s John C. Reilly. Felix is fantastic because he has a cool hammer and he says things like ‘jiminy-jaminy’.

4- Zootopia

7c69ab8e50d267dfc4cbcf19bebfd725.gif
Oh yeah. The aviators? All the yes.

I’ve only seen Zootopia once so I’m not an expert on the film, but I do love it. Not only does it have this awesome satisfying story that has some cool inclusivity-without-the-whole-tolerance-thing (which I think you could call Diversity) to it, it also has that on-fleak Disney Animation that you can watch seven times and still see something new. PLUS it had that super creepy part that I was a little unsure of at first, but now I’m like “YESSSS.” It’s been a really long time since an animated movie gave me the freaky-deakies, but literally EVERYONE in the theatre jumped when IT happened.

bc131994d0ce52c2320475cebc33eb9d.jpg

Unfortunately, Zootopia did not produce a flourishing fandom of fan art and beautifulness on Pinterest like some movies did (read: Big Hero 6), but you know, some things are so perfect that people don’t feel the need to add to them.

3- Ratatouille

abadb3a44f746ae50cdb9c55d344a775.jpg

REMY. He is a cinnamon roll. Actually, he’s too small to be a cinnamon roll. He’s more like a bean. A bean that can cook like a boss. AND HE LIVES IN PARIS. This movie makes me feel all nostalgic for the good old days when Pixar was actually so far ahead of the curve they were FROM THE FUTURE. (Okay, that metaphor went down the drain.)

Also, Remy does that thing… you know what thing…

f93.gif

That thing. IT NEVER FAILS TO MAKE ME LAUGH LIKE A MANIAC.

2- Big Hero 6

SO if you didn’t already know, I don’t really cry at movies, but crying at a movie is like a Badge of Honor- not only for me, but for the feelsiness of the movie. Big Hero 6 was the first movie I ever cried at. It just killed me to death. I love Hiro. So much. And Tadashi. And Honey Lemon. (Speaking of Tadashi and Honey Lemon, check out my Tadashoney fanfic on Wattpad.)

9b183d9ada222714c9ec7d16a255df19.jpg
BONUS: This was the FIRST STAN LEE CAMEO I EVER SAW.

Big Hero 6 actually deserves spot Number One (except there’s another movie that deserves #1, so… yeah), because it’s seriously the best ever. I’m a sucker for superhero movies, and siblings, and cool hair, all of which were in this movie. Also they were like super-smart tech geniuses without being awkward dorks- except Fred, of course, who was not super-smart and WAS an awkward dork, but it was T.J. Miller so all is forgiven.

8aa9929008c156059f9e21a2c4ea6470.jpg

1- Beauty and the Beast

bad5d4e9aade46aa6babdf6bf2e8b75a.jpg

I DON’T EVEN HAVE THE WORDS TO DESCRIBE MY LOVE FOR THIS MOVIE. AND THEY ARE MAKING THE  LIVE ACTION ONE SO I AM DEAD.

4191b4db295f9a2676a633fd09399995.jpg

I don’t even know. I can’t even speak. I just… love it. My heart gushes forth. I didn’t even grow up watching this Disney classic, but it takes up so much of my love I’m surprised I even love anything else.

Belle-and-The-Beast-in-Beauty-and-the-Beast-disney-couples-25378472-1280-720.jpg

It’s… it’s… everything. It’s perfect. And it has music. And it has talking clocks and a library and a dog that was turned into a footstool.

Beauty and the Beast is sort of like the epitome of all things Disney. It’s a classic, it’s a Disney princess story, it has music, it won Academy Awards. Not only is it the Disneyest, it was also universally accepted as the best even outside the animated ranks.

Animation is a huge deal to me. Which is why I would actually consider watching The Good Dinosaur (a movie that, by all counts so far, is not even worth wasting time on). But it’s not just the impressiveness of our technology that draws me to animation. It’s the charm and fantasy. Animation opens the world up- it can go anywhere, take ANY SHOT (like in Big Hero 6, when the ‘camera’ goes through the propellors of one of those air balloon fan things). It’s a storybook that has come to life.

Basically, animation is one of the coolest things ever.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Jaden C. Kilmer June 12, 2016 — 2:33 am

    Your thoughts on Beauty and the Beast are my thoughts on Tangled. LOVE Disney, so here’s my top 6 animated!

    Tangled

    A Bug’s Life

    Aladdin

    Finding Nemo

    Toy Story 3

    Beauty and the Beast

    My home page for my movie blog explains my eternal and undying love for Tangled, if you’re interested: https://cookiesandopinions.wordpress.com/2016/05/07/first-blog-post/

    Like

  2. I love those movies!! Genie is so fantastic in Aladdin. And I totally forgot about Finding Nemo- that movie is definitely one of the best.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

