Cinematic Appreciation: The Nanny Diaries

CINEMATIC APPRECIATION OBJECTIVE: I love movies. They are a combination of every art form- visual and audible, textures and colors and singing and talking and everything beautiful. So I thought I would take some time to fully appreciate the films that capture my heart the most.

Each film is scored on several different levels:

CGI (Computer Generated Images, or basically special effects): 0 being terrible and 10 being phenomenal.

COSTUMING AND MAKEUP (speaks for itself): 0 being inaccurate and 10 being perfect.

SCREENPLAY (script): 0 being filled with plot holes and 10 being flawless.

CASTING (even extras!): 0 being meh and 10 being EVEN THE PERSON ON THE SIDEWALK WAS IN CHARACTER!!!

MUSIC (soundtrack): 0 being a detraction from the film and 10 being an advantage.

And, finally, OVERALL FEELS (my fangirling emotions): 0 being none and 10 being I-can’t-breathe.

The only reason I watched this movie in the first place is because it stars some of my favorite Marvel characters- Captain America and Black Widow. But that’s not the reason it’s my favorite romantic comedy now.

THE NANNY DIARIES

MV5BMTkxMjU5MTY0Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzU4NjU0MQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_.jpg

Starring (as I just said) Scarlett Johannson, Chris Evans, and Laura Linney.

CGI: not applicable out of 10.

Well, almost not applicable. There is a part where Annie the Nanny is lifted into the air Mary-Poppins style, and sure it’s obviously greenscreen, but it’s not really supposed to look like real life anyway.

8056cf665b6bd5528994880b70d64d77.jpg

COSTUMING AND MAKEUP: 10 out of 10.

It’s not like the costuming in this film is really challenging- no need for hours of research on the history and particulars of corsets from the 1700’s or shoes from medieval France. But the costume designers did have the challenge of accurately depicting a New Yorkie flavor, and they did it beautifully. They showed me a side of New York I hadn’t seen in movies before, and I really liked it.

SCREENPLAY: 10 out of 10.

I can’t say anything bad about this script. It tells the story of Annie seamlessly, captivatingly. There’s splashes of humor (side-busting humor, if you’re in the right mood), and surprisingly, a real heartfelt emotion that gets you right in the feels. I especially love that it doesn’t have that fairytale ending a lot of movies have. Annie’s life is far from perfect. She makes mistakes and has to pay the price for them, but that doesn’t mean her life is over. It feels a bit like a documentary in a beautiful, wonderful way.

tumblr_mg1izlTEMM1qckea9o3_500.gif

CASTING: 8 out of 10.

All the main characters were spot-on. Witty, charming, future Marvel superheroes- I mean-

There were, however, a few minor characters that were slightly glaring. A few extras that held my attention too long. A couple people on the sidewalk that I could’ve done without. But not all the minor characters were bad, and there were actually a few I really appreciated. And obviously, the main characters were perfection. Scarlett’s depiction of Annie had zero resemblance to Black Widow (except, of course, her face) and I liked seeing her in a completely different setting. Chris Evans played a little more of the Johnny Storm-type character without the rebel, and it was fun to see him do something other than be a superhero. I haven’t seen Laura Linney in anything else, but her portrayal of Mrs. X has officially gone on my Performances That Inspire Me list.

 BkhQcn-10 (dragged).jpg

MUSIC: 6 out of 10.

I didn’t really notice the music particularly. But if I heard it playing in another room, I would know immediately what it was. It had some great, playful themes that evoked the journey Annie goes on. There were also a handful of pop songs that set the scene for that particular time and place. (“FREEDOM!!”)

24nanny-600.jpg

OVERALL FEELS: Warm Fuzzies out of 10

“Romantic Comedy” is a really limiting genre to this film. It’s got a little romance, a lot of comedy, but it also has a huge dash of reality and deals with some real-life problems and emotions. If it stuck to the regular definition of a romantic comedy, I probably wouldn’t love it the way I do. The performances touched me and left me spinning new thoughts and ideas out in my head. So it’s not just a carefree, funny movie. It also touches my heart and leaves me feeling all those warm fuzzies.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Oh my gosh I LOVE THIS MOVIE. It was free on Amazon Prime for a while, so I’d watch it every now and then, but after it went off, I just HAD to buy it. It’s one of my favorite rom-coms ever, and it makes me appreciate the kids I nanny. XD

    Like

Leave a Comment

