Let The Games Begin

I’ve heard it said a million times until it was so cliché I hated it.

May the odds be ever in your favor.

But fortunately, even the most world-wide recognition can’t scar the beauty of something original. My indifference to The Hunger Games trilogy stretches far back and I lumped it straight into the trendiness of violent YA fiction and stereotypical dystopian novels.

As you may have guessed, I’m not writing this just to tell you that I still am unfeeling towards it.

6421193557_f757be16f2.jpg

About a week ago I started reading The Hunger Games, and found it better than I had expected. This wasn’t a story of a 20-something year old kick-butt master assassin, but a girl. A girl who’s hardened by the difficulties of life but still real and hurt.

When I started reading Catching Fire I was immediately riveted and reading almost non-stop because, whereas with the first book I already knew most of the story, the second book is a little more uncharted for me.

Any time a book is in first person, I feel deeply connected to the characters, but with Katniss I especially care for her. I love her. One of the many things I love about her is her wariness of trusting others. Especially when it comes to romantic relationships, Katniss is unwilling to let herself feel freely. Not only can I relate to that, it gives so much depth to the character. She’s raw. She’s broken. But she’s strong.

I don’t know what else to say, since I’m not done with Catching Fire yet. I’ll keep you updated. I figured that I should post about something other than Star Wars once in a blue moon.

6 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I loved the books! But, the movies, especially the much awaited Mockingjay part 2, was a real let down! I think that ‘the book is always better’. Only one series has an exception to this, which was ‘The Lion, The Witch, And The Wardrobe’ where I liked the movie better.

    Like

  2. I agree- the books are *almost* always better. I feel the same way about The Giver- I do like the movie, but it just doesn’t capture the essence of the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yess! I watched the Giver and I tried reading the book but it was nothing compared to the movie! Finally, someone who agrees with me!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OOPS! Didn’t read the comment properly. Anyways, I liked the movie too, sorry!

    Like

  5. Actually I think a good argument can be made for both sides, especially with The Giver since the book and movie are different enough that they can almost be considered two separate things. As far as movies go, I really really liked it- it’s actually on our ‘shelf of favorite movies’. The thing I like about the book better (and most book/movie adaptions) is that the book deals more heavily in their thoughts and emotions (obviously, that’s kind of how books are anyway, right?). But I’ve totally done the same thing- tried to read the book, and enjoyed the movie more. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yeah, I agree. I think it’s because I watched the movie first and then tried to read the book which was probably a BIG mistake. Most movie adaptions are not that good, for e.g Ender’s Game. I loved the book but the movie did not explain the thoughts and the emotion that the book had. Most movies don’t capture the book’s authenticity! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

