Cinematic Appreciation: Titanic

CINEMATIC APPRECIATION OBJECTIVE: I love movies. They are a combination of every art form- visual and audible, textures and colors and singing and talking and everything beautiful. So I thought I would take some time to fully appreciate the films that capture my heart the most.

Each film is scored on several different levels:

CGI (Computer Generated Images, or basically special effects): 0 being terrible and 10 being phenomenal.

COSTUMING AND MAKEUP (speaks for itself): 0 being inaccurate and 10 being perfect.

SCREENPLAY (script): 0 being filled with plot holes and 10 being flawless.

CASTING (even extras!): 0 being meh and 10 being EVEN THE PERSON ON THE SIDEWALK WAS IN CHARACTER!!!

MUSIC (soundtrack): 0 being a detraction from the film and 10 being an advantage.

And, finally, OVERALL FEELS (my fangirling emotions): 0 being none and 10 being I-can’t-breathe.

This time around we’re visiting the fantastic, worldwide phenomenon:

TITANIC

Titanic-1997.jpg

Starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet

CGI: 7 out of 10

This movie got a lot of grace in the CGI department because it’s almost 20 years old. It was actually impressive 90’s greenscreen, and it didn’t detract from the film too much.

COSTUMING AND MAKEUP: 10 out of 10

titaniccostumeinspiration.jpg

GORGEOUS. Oh, breathtaking. Rose’s first costume of the film is my personal favorite. I must commend the costumer because there were literally hundreds of extras in the movie, and costuming all of them must have been no small task.

SCREENPLAY: 5 out of 10

Where some areas of this movie shine like the paragons of cinematic history that they are, other areas are quietly forgotten. Yes, there are some highly quotable lines. But there are also some painfully comical ones. “I’M FLYING!” We can see that, Rose. We can see. However, there are only a handful of times when the script yanks you from the story, so the screenplay is saved by the rest of the film.

3584354_orig.jpg

CASTING: 8 out of 10

James Cameron knew what was what when he insisted on Leo Di for the role of Jack instead of Tom Cruise. It is my firm opinion that this movie would not have been the highest grossing movie in the world for 12 years if Cruise had been cast. Horror of horrors.

Anyway, back to the actual cast. Leo as Jack Dawson is the first role I ever saw DiCaprio in and it immediately endeared me to the recently-Oscar-winning actor. I’d only seen Kate in Divergent, and seeing her in a role that’s not an evil villain was fantastic.

However, elderly Rose was a bit too blithe for my tastes. WHY DID YOU KEEP THE HEART OF THE OCEAN FOR DECADES AND THEN THROW IT IN THE OCEAN?!? The poor guy scavenging the ruins of Titanic has spent years of his life looking for that jewel and you just toss it into the waves. I still don’t understand.

MUSIC: 9 out of 10

This is only 1 point shy of 10 because of the old synthesizers that, at first hearing, are a little cringe-worthy. However, you get over it. My Heart Will Go On has blared through our speakers often enough in the last few weeks to prove that.

titanic-19978.jpg

OVERALL FEELS: My Heart Might Not Go On out of 10

After hearing about this movie for so many years, I was really excited to watch it and see for myself if it was really all that great. And I can honestly say it was wonderful. The event of the Titanic is very cinematic, with all those surging emotions and life-or-death situations. The all-star cast, sweeping music, and in-camera set work all worked together to make a historic, record-breaking film that captured the heart of a severely modern movie watcher.

Bonus: I was born in ’97. So this has officially become “my” movie.

tumblr_nrvxg5zLMR1tem1e5o1_500.jpg

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. I’m glad you finally found “your” movie! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment

