My Opinions on the 88th Academy Awards

We were able to attend a live streaming of the 88th Academy Awards, and it was absolutely fantastic. I’d seen several red carpets, including the 2016 Golden Globes, but never an actual ceremony, and the Oscars was a wonderful event. There was a lot that happened tonight, and I have several points I’d like to share about it.

Oscars-banner-e1452610176322.jpg

  • Although at first glance I disliked some of the winners, I can’t argue with the Academy’s choices. They know what they’re doing. And how can I accuse them of being biased when the only reason I dislike their choice is because I’m biased for someone else?
  • Leo Di has been nominated six times and I was not expecting him to win tonight, but I was gladly surprised when he did. I was sad that Matt Damon didn’t take home the award, but Leo seemed so ecstatic I couldn’t help but be happy about it.61leonardo-di-caprio.jpg
  • Unfortunately, in the Academy’s drastic attempts to include black people, I feel like all they did was make fun of them. If America was really unprejudiced, we wouldn’t even notice the skin colors of the nominees. The color of your skin doesn’t affect your ability to act or direct or design. I don’t believe it affected the judge’s nominations, either. All the nominees being white only means that the best performances of the year were performed by people with light skin. Some of them were American, some were from Europe, but where they are from or what they look like doesn’t change how well they did their job.
  • On another controversial subject: I was very excited for Writings on the Wall to win Best Original Song. I agreed with the Academy on that one- I thought it was the best, too. However, Sam Smith’s claim to LGBT pride in his acceptance speech made my heart break. With all the talk of sexual abuse awareness tonight, it hurts to see society being led astray. We raise awareness of abuse but then turn and encourage another type of abuse that is being so glorified in the public eye. I don’t know how to respond to it. I know what I believe. I don’t know if it’s my place to oppose these people or not when what they really need is God and Christ’s love.
  • Mad Max: Fury Road won way too many consecutive awards, if you ask me.
  • Cate Blanchett’s dress was absolutely dreamy.cate-blanchett-oscars-2016-red-carpet-01.jpg

It was an eye-opening experience, and I am so excited for next year. What did you think of this year’s Oscars?

Leave a Comment

