Heroism: Crisis

So, I realized something recently.

My character doesn’t have an all-consuming want or need.

And there’s not really a climax… at all.

HOW DID THIS HAPPEN?!?!? I have dozens of pages of plot lines, and pages of details and scene work and character references. How did I get this far without realizing that I don’t even have a climax?

The story is definitely not lacking in crises. I have tons of rising and falling action, but there’s no climax for them to rise and fall around.

So I have a new assignment now. And it’s an interesting one, especially since most of the time when I’m creating a story, I think of the climax first. 

TO DO LIST:

  • Think up climax for my book that makes sense with everything else that’s going to happen and fits well with all the other crises.

Writing a book has taught me many things. And now it’s taught me that “Things are never as easy as they seem”. Or maybe “Just when you think you’ve figured it all out you realize you don’t know anything”. Or perhaps, “Make sure your book has a climax before you get halfway through writing it.”

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. I can’t wait to read your book! I love you!

    Like

Leave a Comment

