Heroism: Missing in Action

Today, I thought I’d approach this Heroism differently, and instead of relating to you my latest failures as a writer and listing off all the reasons Writer’s Block is what it is and how I plan to overcome it, I’d just… talk.

vector-superman-logo-600x460-cool-plan-logo-vector

Talk about Hero. My hero, specifically. His name is Nick Shard.

Nicson Forest Shard, actually. I love that name. Sometimes I’ll just say it over and over because it makes me happy. It fits him so perfectly. I was already halfway through Part One when I chose his full name. Before that, he’d just been Nick Shard – now, he’s Nicson Forest.

His girl, Deatrix Hodge, also has a middle name. Middle names are important to me, and so each of the ten main characters have a full name and a birthplace.

IMG_2641
TOP SECRET. Not really. But sort of.

This is where I keep all my most important notes. Names, ages, superpowers, medical terminology, lists of doctors and assistants and all that crazy stuff.

Deatrix Quentin Hodge is 18 – same as Nick. She’s from Washington, D.C. – which is not where Nick is from. Nick’s from Canada, though specifically where in Canada I have no idea. I have yet to make him say ‘aye’ though it is a goal of mine, to sort of slip that in somewhere.

Working to develop ten different people so that they are each characteristically different from each other is hard. It’s exercise, really, exercising the mind. Alas, my brain feels no more in shape than it did a year ago, when I started all this. I suppose the saying is true – work first, then the reward.

He swallowed. “Don’t you know? I burned it. I couldn’t turn it off, and everything burned.” – Nick Shard

I will say one thing about my plans to overcome Writer’s Block: I have recently discovered that if I need fresh inspiration, I ask my sister or anyone nearby to think of a random place (for the characters to go to) or a random phrase (for someone to say – or at least, to start a conversation in my head that might lead to something they’d actually say). Even if I don’t end up using it, it gets the blood moving so to speak, and it makes for a more unexpected story than just “Then they went to the living room… again… and talked about the glaring problem… again.” Instead, they could end up in a candy store talking about dinosaurs, and everything would be that much more interesting.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. 🙂 Love you!

    Like

Leave a Comment

