Hope

hope – hōp (noun)
1. a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.
“he looked through her belongings in the hope of coming across some information”

know –  (verb)
1. be aware of through observation, inquiry, or information.
“most people know that CFCs can damage the ozone layer”

2. be absolutely certain or sure about something.
“I just knew it was something I wanted to do”

There’s a difference between hoping for something and knowing something.

“I hope I get a new car” and “I know I’m getting a new car” mean awfully different things. One is full of hope (literally) and one is full of certainty.

Some people hope they’ll do good enough to go to heaven, or they hope they’ll do the right thing. They hope they will deserve salvation if they just do this or just do that.

I know I’m saved. I know I’m not good enough. I know I don’t deserve it. But I know that He saved me.

“For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.” – Ephesians 2:8-10

I am absolutely certain that I am saved by grace through faith. I am absolutely certain it is the gift of God. I am absolutely certain I am His workmanship.

So yes, I am full of hope. But more than that- I know.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. I love this! And I love you!

    Like

Leave a Comment

