Action

I’m a theatre girl. I grew up being a drama queen and acted before I even knew that was a thing. It took me a decade to realize I just wanted to act. So, that’s what I do.

I used to want chickens. Seriously. My main desire was to have chickens. I adored the little feathery things and wanted a whole yardful. I imagined gathering eggs and joyously scattering seed for them to peck with their pointy yellow beaks.

I never got chickens. But you know what? I don’t really care anymore. I prayed and prayed and prayed for chickens, or that we could move to the country so we could live on a farm, or maybe we could build a chicken coop in the backyard even though our neighbors are right there.

God knew, when I was praying, who I would be right now. I’m not going to suggest reasons for why I didn’t get chickens. The point is, I wanted something really badly and I didn’t get it.

I’m not stewing over my unfulfilled desire. The fact is, I don’t desire it anymore. That’s how my life has been for all of what I’ve lived so far. I want something- I want it really, really bad- and then, after time, I don’t want it so bad anymore.

I’m not saying we can’t want things or that every desire we have will go away. But no matter what our desire is, when it’s fulfilled- or if it’s fulfilled- God is there. He’ll grow us in ways we never knew we needed.

So, when the theatre girl gets on her knees and begs for chickens, maybe she’ll get something else she didn’t know she needed- change.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I’m excited about your new blog! And I’m so glad God made you who you are! I love you!

    Like

  2. I like who you are and I also like who you are becoming!

    Like

Leave a Comment

